Summertime sweets

On a recent weekday morning, I awoke to the sound of an incoming Snapchat at 7 a.m. While I was still adjusting to a new day, my cousin snapped me the entire process of her preparing a berry crisp for breakfast. My mind was blown by two things:

  1. Berry crisp for breakfast!
  2. Homemade berry crisp for breakfast at 7 a.m. on a weekday?

I knew I’d never be able to achieve the second, but I set myself a goal of indulging in a crisp breakfast on an upcoming morning.

Peach crisp for breakfast

I searched the web far and wide to find the most straightforward recipe for peach crisp. Along the way, I found this wonderfully explanatory video about creating the perfect peach cobbler.

I also learned the difference between a cobbler and crisp – a cobbler is topped with a biscuit batter, whereas a crisp includes an oat mix. Who knew!

I’ll be honest – this crisp did not go as planned. I had a few days off work and was absolutely determined this would be a wonderful start to a mini-vacation.  When I awoke to prepare my crisp, I had come down with quite possibly the worst summer cold I’ve ever had. Nonetheless, I was determined and set out preparing Chowhound’s Easy Peach Crisp. Did it taste good? I can’t tell you. I couldn’t taste it at all. But boy did it look good as it sizzled coming out of the oven.

Screenshot_20160725-234639-2

Sometimes appearance really is all that matters.

Lessons learned

This week’s lesson is pretty straightforward: despite your cooking goals, if you wake up with a deathly cold – give yourself a break. 45 minutes preparing a homemade crisp for breakfast is wasted if you can’t taste it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

