Three weekday breakfast solutions for the non-early bird

I’ve never been a morning person. When I was in high school, my dad would wake me up and I would get out of bed, go to the bathroom, and go back to sleep on the mat to squeeze out 10 more minutes. As an adult I now see how gross this practice was. I’m not that bad anymore, but I have been known to hit a snooze once or twice. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve become more and more envious of people who seem to enjoy their mornings.

One of the worst parts about not being a morning person is the hit it takes on you’re a.m. food consumption. It seems easy and straightforward and a ridiculous thing to be bad at, but I’m bad at breakfast.

Too often I’ve settle for coffee, or a baked good, or cheese and crackers. Breakfast seems straightforward, but the truth is I’ve never felt satiated with cereal or toast, and so over the past year I’ve made it my mission to sort out a few easy but filling breakfast solutions.

While breakfast before work isn’t exactly about hosting, it is about food and it is about eating at home, so with this in mind, here are my three best breakfast solutions.

Egg white banana oat pancake

Passed on from a colleague at work, this is by far the most balanced and filling breakfast on the list:

  • 1/3 cup egg white
  • 1/3 cup oatmeal
  • mashed banana

Mix it up and pan-fry it. You’re good to go. Make 100 in advance and freeze them. Now you’re good to go for 100 days. (Okay maybe 100 is a bit much).

Steel cut oats

This one is so easy. Just make a big ol’ batch of steel cut oats. Pack some the night before. Mix in some peanut butter if it’s too plain for you. Now you’re good to go.

Smoothie goodness

This is probably one of the things I’m most proud of for my breakfasts. I hate yogurt. I hate it so much. But I know it’s “good for you” and so I’ve tried to work against this. In fact, I have been working for years perfecting the balance of yogurt to fruit to water consistency so that a smoothie is both palatable and filling. Here it is:

  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1 cup frozen fruit (if you use strawberries and bananas, you can even pretend it’s a strawberry milkshake)
  • 1 ice cube
  • whatever room is left in the magic bullet amount of water

Mix it all up and you’re good to go.

Lessons learned

While not a traditional entertaining/hosting blog post, here’s what I’ve learned through my breakfast trials:

  • Aim low – don’t plan to do too much in the morning. Maybe you’ll make that omelette on Monday and Tuesday, but Wednesday’s a lost cause.
  • Prepare ahead – can you make a big batch on Sunday? Can you put your yogurt in the magic bullet the night before?
  • Not everyone is going to be an enjoy-the-morning-read-a-paper person. Accept it and work with what you’ve got – even if all you’ve got is 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

